News Terms 1

Barbara Ryden Elected a Fellow of the AAAS.

November 23, 2016

Four Ohio State University faculty, including Astronomy Profesosr Barbara Ryden, have been elected this year as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Undergraduate Students Win Research Scholarships

November 21, 2016
SURP 2016 Participants

Undergraduate Astronomy & Astrophysics majors Fangze Liu, Joseph Schulze, and Andrew Taylor have been awarded Undergraduate Research Scholarships from the Arts & Sciences Honors Committee.

Graduate Student wins award at SACNAS Conference

October 26, 2016
Villanueva wins award at SACNAS Conference

Astronomy graduate student Steven Villanueva Jr. won the graduate student award for best oral presentation in Physics and Astronomy at the 2016 Conference of the Society for the Advancment of Chicanos/Hispanic and Native American Scientists (SACNAS).

Astronomers Win Top Prizes from American Astronomical Society

February 22, 2016
AAS Logo

Laura Lopez, assistant professor, astronomy, will receive the 2016 Annie Jump Cannon Award for outstanding research by early-career female astronomers (an astronomer within five years of receiving her PhD) for her contributions to understanding detailed astrophysics in the birth-to-death cycle of

OSU and NASA Astronomers Find Twins of Eta Carina

January 9, 2016
Eta Carina (Hubble Space Telescope image)

Eta Carinae, the most luminous and massive stellar system within 10,000 light-years, is best known for an enormous eruption seen in the mid-19th century that hurled at least 10 times the sun's mass into space.