L. Earl Slusher Scholarship in Astronomy


To show his appreciation for the kind assistance he received from OSU Astronomy professor Gerald Newsom and his wife Ann, L. Earl Slusher established an endowment fund to honor exceptional Astronomy undergraduates at OSU. The Slusher Endowment Fund in Astronomy was established February 7, 1986 by the Board of Trustees of the Ohio State University.

The L. Earl Slusher Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding Astronomy major who has shown exceptional promise for going on to graduate work in Astronomy. It is typically given to a junior or senior selected by the department chair from among students nominated by the faculty, although exceptional freshmen or sophomores may be selected. The amount of the award varies between $2000 and $2500, and although it can be awarded annually, it is only given when faculty members consider a student truly exceptional.

Past Recipients

1988 - Jody K. Wilson

1989 - Robert J. Reid

1990 - Mark A. Ratliff

1991 - Mark F. Graziani

1992 - Russel J. White

1993 - Sean M. Smith

1994 - Gordon A. Baugh

1997 - Choong C. Ngeow

1998 - Jill. S. Jacobs

2000 - Karoline M. Gilbert

2001 - John H. Harrison

2002 - Mark A. Pitts

2003 - Michael S. Sutherland

2004 - Kyle G. Metzroth

2005 - Robert J. Hobbins

2006 - A. Zachary McBride

2007 - Garrett H. Elliot

2008 - Timothy Arnold

2009 - Nathaniel Ross

2010 - Li-Wei Hung

2011 - Elizabeth M Otto

2012 - Johnny P. Greco

2018 - Whitney Powers

2019 - Erica Behrens and Jack Warfield