Awards and Fellowships


The Ohio State Department of Astronomy recognizes excellence among graduate students with special scholarships, fellowships, and awards generously supported by gifts to the department.

David G. Price Fellowship in Astronomical Instrumentation

Dr. David G. Price received his Ph.D. in Astronomy from OSU in 1975. In 2000, Dr. Price established an endowment to support the David G. Price Fellowship in Astronomical Instrumentation. David has served the Ohio State University in a number of capacities, including being a college representative on the Alumni Advisory Board and on the Large Binocular Telescope Advisory Board. He set up this endowment to help support the Astronomy Department's instrumentation efforts at the LBT and other observatory facilities.

The Price Fellowship is awarded to a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow working on astronomical instrumentation and provides stipend support for up to a full year. The intent is to allow the student to focus on an instrumentation project instead of serving as a TA or research assistant. The fellowship was first awarded in 2001.

Past Price Fellows

Allan Markowitz Graduate Award in Observational Astronomy

The Allan Markowitz Graduate Award in Observational Astronomy is made possible by a generous gift from Ohio State doctoral alumnus Dr. Allan H. Markowitz (MS 1966, Ph.D. 1969). The Markowitz Award is given to a graduate student who is conducting or developing a research program in areas of observational astronomy, including the analysis of data obtained with space-based observatories, or facilities that are queue-scheduled or provide service observing.

Past Markowitz Award Recipients

Ann S. Tuttle Citizenship, Engagement, and Outreach Prize

Our field and Department benefit tremendously from the efforts of our graduate students to engage the public and contribute to our diverse community. These efforts range from giving Planetarium shows, to leading our Diversity Journal Clubs, to engaging with OSU student groups, to counseling younger graduate students and beyond. The Ann S. Tuttle Citizenship, Engagement, and Outreach Prize recognizes these important contributions. A $500 cash prize will be awarded to a current graduate student for exceptional effort and impact in outreach, public engagement, or service to our field, University, or Department. The Graduate Studies Committee calls for nominations from anyone in the Department yearly but accepts nominations at any time.

Past Tuttle Citizenship Award Recipients

Ann S. Tuttle Paper Award

A $500 annual cash prize is awarded to a graduate student for the best first-author publication from the preceding year in any area of astronomy. Nominations will be solicited from faculty by the graduate student council each year.

Past Tuttle Paper Award Recipients

David Will Prize

The David Will Prize recognizes a student or postdoctoral researcher in astrophysics who is conducting an exceptional research program in computational astronomy, survey astronomy, data science, or other related topics. In recognition of exceptional achievement, a cash prize and plaque will be awarded to a current student or postdoctoral researcher at an Astronomy Department award event.

Past David Will Prize Recipients