Ohio State nav bar

Loren E. Bollinger - Kenneth E. Kissell Scholarship

The Loren E. Bollinger-Kenneth E. Kissell Endowment Fund was established December 1, 1989 by the Board of Trustees of the Ohio State University with gifts to the OSU Development Fund from Dr. Kenneth E. Kissell (BS 1949, MS 1958, PhD Astronomy 1969). The Bollinger-Kissell Endowment honors the career of Loren E. Bollinger (BSEE 1948, MS AeroEngr 1956), a science columnist with The Columbus Dispatch and an instructor in the Dept. of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering at OSU from 1956-1966, as well as the friendship between Dr. Kissell and Mr. Bollinger.

The Bollinger-Kissell Scholarship provides an annual scholarship in the School of Journalism, College of Engineering (Depts of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering and Electrical Engineering), and the Department of Astronomy. The scholarship is given to a junior or senior student in these programs that shows a demonstrated interest in science writing. Recipients should be residents of the State of Ohio with a preference for students from the northeast quadrant of the State. Scholarship recipients will be chosen by the University Committee on Student Financial Aid, in consultation with the appropriate department chairperson.

Past Recipients from Astronomy

2023 - Greg Costa, Alyssa Whalen

2022 - Alyssa Whalen

2021 - Caitlin O'Brien

2019 - Jackie Appel

2011 - Jacob Parks

2010 - Jessica Orwig

2009 - Jessica Orwig

2003 - Allison Heinrichs

2002 - Allison Heinrichs

1991 - Robert Reid