News Terms 1

David Will wins Distinguished Staff Award

March 30, 2017
David Will

We are pleased to announce that David Will was awarded a 2017 Distinguished Staff Award! The Distinguished Staff Award is awarded annually to 12 staff members at The Ohio State University, and honors their "outstanding achievements, service, leadership, and dedication" to the University.

Laura Lopez Gives Prize Lecture

January 7, 2017
Professor Laura Lopez

Astronomy Assistant Professor Laura Lopez presented a keynote talk entitled "The Tumultuous Lives and Deaths of Stars" at the 229th meeting of the American Astronomical Society on January 4, 2017. Professor Lopez presented the talk as the 2016 winner of the Annie Jump Cannon award.

Barbara Ryden Elected a Fellow of the AAAS.

November 23, 2016

Four Ohio State University faculty, including Astronomy Profesosr Barbara Ryden, have been elected this year as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Undergraduate Students Win Research Scholarships

November 21, 2016
SURP 2016 Participants

Undergraduate Astronomy & Astrophysics majors Fangze Liu, Joseph Schulze, and Andrew Taylor have been awarded Undergraduate Research Scholarships from the Arts & Sciences Honors Committee.