News Terms 1

Graduate Student wins award at SACNAS Conference

October 26, 2016
Villanueva wins award at SACNAS Conference

Astronomy graduate student Steven Villanueva Jr. won the graduate student award for best oral presentation in Physics and Astronomy at the 2016 Conference of the Society for the Advancment of Chicanos/Hispanic and Native American Scientists (SACNAS).

Astronomers Win Top Prizes from American Astronomical Society

February 22, 2016
AAS Logo

Laura Lopez, assistant professor, astronomy, will receive the 2016 Annie Jump Cannon Award for outstanding research by early-career female astronomers (an astronomer within five years of receiving her PhD) for her contributions to understanding detailed astrophysics in the birth-to-death cycle of

OSU and NASA Astronomers Find Twins of Eta Carina

January 9, 2016
Eta Carina (Hubble Space Telescope image)

Eta Carinae, the most luminous and massive stellar system within 10,000 light-years, is best known for an enormous eruption seen in the mid-19th century that hurled at least 10 times the sun's mass into space.

OSU Planetarium to be named for Professor Arne Slettebak

April 15, 2015
OSU Planetarium in 1968 with Prof. Arne Slettebak

At their April 10 meeting, the Ohio State University Board of Trustees in recognition of contributions to the College of Arts and Sciences by Gerald and Ann Newsom and David and Sheryl Price, approved the planetarium’s official new name: the Arne Slettebak Planetarium.

David Weinberg wins the AAS Lancelot M. Berkeley Prize

January 14, 2015
Photo of David Weinberg

The American Astronomical Society (AAS) awarded David H. Weinberg, the Henry L. Cox Professor in Astronomy and Distinguished Professor of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, the Lancelot M. Berkeley New York Community Trust Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy.